Botswana: Active political parties

Updated June 2010

New party

Party Leader Founded
Botswana Movement for Democracy Gomolemo Motswaledi (interim chair) 29 May 2010

Party merger

The Botswana Congress Party (BCP) and the Botswana Alliance Movement (BAM) merged in May 2010 and retained the name Botswana Congress Party while adopting a new logo. A new Central Committee is scheduled to be elected on 19 July 2010 at a national party congress.

Parties that contested 2005 election

Parties ordered by the number of seats obtained in the 2009 National Assembly election or, if none, by the number of candidates fielded.

Party Leaders Founded
Botswana Democratic Party (BDP)
Formerly: Bechuanaland Democratic Party
Lt Gen Ian Khama
Festus Gontebanye Mokae
Sir Ketumile Joni Masire
Sir Seretse Khama (d 1980)
Botswana National Front (BNF) Otsweletse Moupo
Bathoen Gaseitsiwe
Dr Kenneth Koma
10 October 1966
Botswana Congress Party (BCP) Gilson Saleshando
Otlaadisa Koosaletsi
Michael Dingake
June 1998
Botswana Alliance Movement (BAM) Ephraim Lepetu Setshwaelo 1999
Botswana Peoples Party (BPP)
Formerly: Bechuanaland Peoples Party - Matante
Bernard Balikani
Knight Maripe
Phillip Matante
MELS Movement of Botswana (MELS) Themba Joina 1993
Botswana Tlhoko Tiro Organisation (BTTO) John Modise Apr 2008