interim statement
EISA Observer Mission 2004 Botswana parliamentary and local government elections

Gaborone, Monday 1st November 2004 - for immediate release


EISA was invited by the Government of Botswana to observe the 2004 Botswana Parliamentary and Local Government Elections. Accordingly, EISA deployed an observer mission to the said elections, which has made the preliminary assessments contained in this statement. The assessment covers the pre-polling, polling, counting and the early stages of the results tabulation process.

1.1 About EISA

EISA was established in 1996. It is an independent non-profit organisation which seeks to promote credible elections and democratic governance in Africa through research, capacity building, advocacy and other targeted interventions. Election Observation is a key component of EISA work as it allows the collection of data and information on electoral practices. Equally important for EISA, election observation provides an opportunity for mission members from countries without a long tradition of multi-party democratic elections to gain first hand electoral experience.
The organisation is headquartered in Johannesburg, South Africa, and has Field Offices in Angola, Democratic Republic of Congo and Mozambique.

1.2 Mission composition

The Mission was composed of 22 members drawn from electoral commissions, civil society organisations, parliaments, academic institutions and political parties from African countries namely, Angola, Ivory Coast, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Honourable Madame Nthloi Motsamai, Speaker of the National Assembly of Lesotho, led the Mission and EISA Executive Director Mr Denis Kadima is the Deputy Leader of the Mission.

Members of the EISA Mission started arriving in Gaborone on 23 October 2004. The Mission met various Botswana election stakeholders and observed events until 31 October 2004.

1.3 Deployment

A total of seven EISA teams were deployed in different parts of Botswana as follows:

  • one team in Francistown
  • two teams in Gaborone
  • one team in Jwaneng
  • one team in Maun and
  • one team in Selebi Phikwe

The teams covered selected urban and rural areas in their districts. The Mission visited a total of 116 voting stations throughout the country.