South African local government election 2000: Eastern Cape

Updated October 2002

The following tables indicate the election results for Category A (metropolitan councils), Category B (local councils) and Category C (district councils) according to political party seats and overall voter support for the party.

Notes on table

Read the table below with the following provisions:

  • The source of data is the IEC. Errors may be present in the tables - for official results contact the IEC.
  • Data is aggregated by province and category so percentages may not be perfectly reconciled.
  • Not all seats or parties are included - some smaller party and independent candidate representatives amounting to less than 1% support and a handful of seats are not included in these tables.
  • District councils are elected on the basis of 40% party lists - these are figures indicated under each party in the district council row. However, the total number of district council seats indicated in the tables includes the 40% PR AND the 60% seats appointed from local councils - a seat allocation process that takes place AFTER the elections. For example, in the Eastern Cape a total of 101 elected district council seats (of a total of 241) are indicated, a figure that is approximately 41% of the total number of district council seats.
Council type Seats / % Votes by party
Nelson Mandela Metropolitan Council 108 1 72 31 1 2
Local councils 1091 4 834 74 5 19 159
District councils 241 0 78 9 1 3 10
Total seats
% Vote
1 440 5

The ANC dominated in most councils in the Eastern Cape, although the UDM carried Umtata (now part of King Sabata Dalindyebo council). Moreover, the DA's claim to be the official opposition do not hold in the province, where the UDM came second overall and performed twice as well as the DA in the local council elections and won half as many again across the province.

The ANC victory on the Eastern Cape's sole metropolitan council - Nelson Mandela Metropole (formerly Port Elizabeth) gives the party control over the most substantial base of resources in one of the country's poorest provinces. The Mayor of Nelson Mandela council, Nceba Faku, has selected an all-ANC mayoral committee.