Zambia: 2006 National Assembly elections results

Updated June 2007

The elections for President and National Assembly took place on 28 October 2006 (Electoral Commission of Zambia 2006a).

The elections in two constituencies (Kabompo East and Lupososhi) were delayed until 26 October 2006 as a result of the deaths of candidates. The figures below include the results for these two constituencies.

Seat allocation

Zambia has a unicameral legislature. In terms of the Zambian Constitution 150 members of the National Assembly are elected from constituencies in first-past-the-post elections, eight members are nominated by the President and a Speaker is elected from outside Parliament by the Assembly (for more information see Zambia: Constitution).


The United Democratic Alliance (UDA) was formed on 1 March 2006 by the three main opposition parties in Parliament, the United Party for National Development (UPND), the Forum for Democracy and Development (FDD) and the United National Independence Party (UNIP). It was an electoral alliance for the 2006 elections, with a future merger of the parties under consideration.

The National Democratic Focus (NDF), formed shortly afterwards, was comprised of five of the smaller parties, the All Peoples' Congress (APC), the Party for Unity, Democracy and Development (PUDD), the Reform Party (RP), the Zambia Development Conference (ZADECO) and the Zambia Republican Party (ZRP). However the Reform Party withdrew from the NDF and fielded its own candidates.


There were 3 941 229 registered voters (Electoral Commission of Zambia 2006a).

Party No seats % seats
Movement for Multiparty Democracy (MMD) 75 50.00
Patriotic Front (PF) 43 28.67
United Democratic Alliance (UDA) 26 17.33
Independents 3 2.00
United Liberal Party (ULP) 2 1.33
National Democratic Focus (NDF) 1 0.67
Total 150 100.00

Table source

Electoral Commission of Zambia 2006b.
Electoral Commission of Zambia 2007.


ELECTORAL COMMISSION OF ZAMBIA 2006a, "2006 Parliamentary Results", [www] [PDF document, opens new window] (accessed 25 Feb 2010)

ELECTORAL COMMISSION OF ZAMBIA 2006b, "Parliamentary Results Summary as at 20:00 Hrs 2nd October, 2006", [www] [PDF document, opens new window] (accessed 25 Feb 2010)

ELECTORAL COMMISSION OF ZAMBIA 2007, "Election Results for Kabompo East and Lupososhi constituencies", e-mail from the Electoral Commission of Zambia's Sitali Liswaniso to EISA's Nosipho Mokoena, 24 May.