Zambia: 2006 Presidential elections results

Updated October 2006

The elections for President and National Assembly took place on 28 October 2006 (Electoral Commission of Zambia 2006a).

Zambian presidents are elected by a plurality (first-past-the-post) and so no run-offs are held.

Voting statistics

Registered Voters 3 941 229
Votes Cast 2 789 114
Voter Turnout 70.77
Valid Votes 2 740 178
Invalid Votes 48 936
% Invalid 1.75

Table Source

Electoral Commission of Zambia 2006b.


The United Democratic Alliance (UDA) was formed on 1 March 2006 by the three main opposition parties in Parliament, the United Party for National Development (UPND), the Forum for Democracy and Development (FDD) and the United National Independence Party (UNIP).

The UDA is an electoral alliance for the 2006 elections, with a future merger of the parties under consideration.


Candidate Party/Coalition No votes % Votes
Levy Mwanawasa Movement for Multiparty Democracy (MMD) 1 177 846 42.98
Michael MC Sata Patriotic Front (PF) 804 748 29.37
Hakainde Hichilema United Democratic Alliance (UDA) 693 772 25.32
Godfrey K Miyanda Heritage Party (HP) 42 891 1.57
Winright Ken N'gondo All Peoples' Congress Party (APC) 20 921 0.76
Total 2 740 178 100.00

Table Source

Electoral Commission of Zambia 2006b.


ELECTORAL COMMISSION OF ZAMBIA 2006a, "2006 Parliamentary Results", [www] [PDF document, opens new window] (accessed 25 Feb 2010)

ELECTORAL COMMISSION OF ZAMBIA 2006b, "GENERAL ELECTIONS 2006: Presidential - National Result by Candidate", [www] [PDF document, opens new window] (accessed 25 Feb 2010).